1996 Annual GIS Meeting

The Gilbert Ichthyological Society (GIS) held its eighth annual meeting 27-29 September 1996 at the Mark O. Hatfield Marine Science Center, Newport, Oregon. Resurrected in 1989 from the Gilbert Fisheries Society, a short-lived organization founded in 1931 at the then Department of Fisheries, University of Washington (see Copeia 1931:71), the GIS is named for celebrated ichthyologist Charles Henry Gilbert (1859-1928), who either by himself or as coauthor (most often with David Starr Jordan) was responsible for the discovery and naming of approximately 117 new genera and about 620 new species of fishes, including about 25% of the fish fauna of Washington and Oregon. The primary purpose of the GIS is to foster communication in the Pacific Northwest concerning all things ichthyological.

The 1996 meeting was attended by some 38 people from Washington, Oregon, California, and British Columbia. Morgan S. Busby was elected President for 1997, and J. Andres Lopez, Vice-President for 1996. Eight new fellows were added to the society, bringing the total membership to 132.

Papers were presented by P. Bayley, S. A. Berkeley, S. Bobko, J. Dunham, R. A. Fritzsche, M. A. Hixon, M. R. Jennings, A. W. Kendall Jr., J. Laufle, D. F. Markle, J. W. Orr, C. Slater, S. Sogard, D. W. Wagman, H. J. Weeks, and R. White. The banquet address was given by J. Andres Lopez of the University of Washington, who presented results from the 1996 Kuril Islands International Expedition.

Next year's meeting will be held jointly with the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists in Seattle, Washington. For more information about the society, see the GIS homepage on the Internet, availabe through ARTEDI, the University of Washington Fish Collection's web server, at http://artedi.washington.edu or contact D. W. Wagman, Secretary, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, Nash Hall 104, Oregon State University, Oregon 97331-3803.
© 1995-2012 The Gilbert Ichthyological Society
email webmaster.